CEM logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CEM Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • The Certified Equipment Manager (CEM) passing score is 74%, per the current AEMP Certification FAQ.
  • The exam is computer-based multiple choice: 150 items, four hours, including unscored pilot items.
  • AEMP names five tested standards: Finance, Customer Service, Information, Policies and Controls.
  • Fees are $550 for members and $650 for nonmembers; you get at most three attempts.

The Number: 74% on a 150-Item Exam

The Certified Equipment Manager credential from the Association of Equipment Management Professionals (AEMP) uses a 74% passing threshold. That figure comes from the current AEMP Certification FAQ and applies specifically to the CEM, the credential built for managers of heavy off-road equipment and municipal or government fleets. It is a different threshold from the one used on AEMP's other certification, so if you have seen a different percentage quoted elsewhere, make sure it was attached to the right credential before you plan around it.

The exam is a computer-based, multiple-choice test of 150 total items delivered over four hours. Some of those 150 items are unscored pilot questions that AEMP uses to evaluate future content, and the split between scored and pilot items is not published. That detail matters for how you interpret the 74%, which the next section unpacks.

Quick reference: 74% passing score, 150 items including unscored pilot items, four hours, computer-based multiple choice, delivered through Meazure Learning test centers or live remote proctoring. Everything else about scoring mechanics should be treated as unverified until AEMP says otherwise.

If you are still deciding whether to pursue the credential at all, our overview of what CEM certification is and the CEM requirements and eligibility guide are the right starting points. This article focuses narrowly on the score you need and how to plan around it.

What 74% Actually Means in Practice

It is tempting to convert 74% into a clean number of questions, and candidates do it constantly. Be careful. Because the 150 items include unscored pilot questions and AEMP does not publish how many, you cannot say with certainty how many scored questions you face or how many you must answer correctly. If all 150 items counted, 74% would land at 111 correct answers. But since some items are pilots that do not count, the real arithmetic is based on a smaller scored pool, and the exact count is not something the public sources confirm.

The practical takeaway is not to obsess over a precise question count. Instead, treat 74% as roughly three correct answers out of every four on whatever mix of scored items you receive. You cannot tell which items are pilots while you are testing, so every question deserves a genuine effort. A pilot item looks identical to a scored one.

Scoring ElementWhat Is KnownStatus
Passing threshold74%Stated in current AEMP FAQ
Total items150, including unscored pilot itemsStated in current AEMP FAQ
Scored vs. pilot splitNot publishedUnverified
Domain weightsNo percentages published for the five standardsUnverified
Partial creditNot described for multiple choiceUnverified
Current cohort pass rateNot publicly disclosedUnverified

For a candid look at what is and is not known about outcomes, see our breakdown of the CEM pass rate. The short version is that no verified figure exists, so be skeptical of any site that cites a precise percentage.

What the Public Sources Do Not Tell You

Good preparation starts with an honest list of unknowns. Based on the AEMP materials reviewed, the following are not publicly confirmed, and you should not assume them in either direction:

  • Whether the exam is open-book. The rules on reference materials are not verified in the public sources. Confirm the policy in your candidate instructions before test day rather than assuming anything.
  • Calculator rules. Finance-related items may involve arithmetic, but whether a calculator is permitted, and what kind, is unverified.
  • Whether the test is adaptive. Nothing in the reviewed sources describes adaptive delivery, but it is not explicitly ruled out either.
  • The weighted blueprint. AEMP names five standards but publishes no percentages. Older references to seventeen competencies are historical and are not a verified current weighted blueprint.
  • Which standard carries the most weight. The highest-weighted area is unknown.
Why this shapes your strategy: Without published weights, you cannot safely skip a standard and bank on the others. A candidate who neglects one of the five areas has no way to know how many scored items that decision puts at risk. Balanced preparation is the rational response to missing information.

Our CEM exam domains guide walks through each content area in more depth and explains how we organize preparation without claiming official weights.

The Five Standards You Are Scored Across

The February 2025 AEMP application, which states that it replaces all previous versions, names the tested standards on its first page: Finance, Customer Service, Information, Policies and Controls. That is direct issuer evidence of what the exam covers. The application does not, however, provide percentages or a full subtopic table.

To give you subject context, AEMP's published management-area descriptions (from its Fleet Masters award page) outline what each area encompasses. Treat these as helpful context, not as an official exam sub-blueprint. That award is not a certification exam, and its criteria do not create exam weights or guarantee question coverage.

Finance

The money side of running an equipment operation, where numbers must support decisions.

  • Financial management of the equipment budget
  • Acquisition decisions: buying, leasing and replacing assets
  • Risk management exposure for the fleet
  • Warranty and performance guidelines

Customer Service

How the equipment department serves the people and divisions that depend on its machines.

  • Service delivery to internal and external customers
  • Service marketing and how value is communicated
  • Communications practices
  • Service improvement over time

Information

Using data and specifications to manage assets with evidence rather than habit.

  • Benchmarking against comparable operations
  • Life-cycle costing across an asset's service life
  • Specifications that drive purchasing quality
  • Technology that captures and reports fleet data

Policies

The written rules and people practices that keep an operation compliant and consistent.

  • Employee training
  • Environmental requirements
  • Safety practices
  • Human resources matters

Controls

The mechanisms that keep cost, quality and uptime under management.

  • Outsourcing decisions
  • Parts management and inventory discipline
  • Preventive maintenance programs
  • Shop facilities management

One note on the source: the application lists the standards as Finance; Customer Service; Information; Policies; Controls. Some readers parse "Policies" and "Controls" as a single combined item, while the application text presents them in sequence. We treat them as five distinct areas for preparation, which is also the safer interpretation.

Exam Format, Delivery and Time Math

Four hours for 150 items gives you an average of about 96 seconds per question, which is generous by the standards of many professional exams. That pacing leaves room to reread scenario-style stems and to flag and revisit uncertain items. The risk on a manager-level exam is rarely running out of time; it is overthinking questions where two answers both sound defensible.

Delivery is through Meazure Learning, either at a test center or via live remote proctoring. If you choose remote proctoring, verify your equipment, room and identification requirements ahead of time so that a technical problem does not derail an attempt you paid hundreds of dollars for. Scheduling windows and deadlines are covered in our CEM exam dates guide.

Key Takeaway

Because pilot items are indistinguishable from scored ones, never "coast" on a question you suspect is experimental. Give every item the same disciplined read, then use your spare time budget for a final pass through flagged questions.

The questions are multiple choice and are written for experienced managers, so expect decision-oriented stems: what would a competent equipment manager do first, which approach best controls cost, or which policy best addresses a safety or compliance concern. Memorizing definitions alone will not carry you to 74% when the items test judgment applied to realistic situations. For a sense of what that difficulty feels like, read how hard the CEM exam is.

Attempts, Fees and the Cost of Missing 74%

The passing score matters more once you account for what a miss costs. The current standard fee is $550 for AEMP members and $650 for nonmembers. Retake pricing is where the sources disagree: the current main certification page lists a $450 retake, while an older store listing showed $250. The older figure is a source discrepancy rather than a newly verified current price, so budget around the main-page number and confirm with AEMP before you pay.

ItemDetail
Exam fee, member$550
Exam fee, nonmember$650
Retake fee$450 on main certification page; older $250 store listing conflicts
Approval windowOne year
Maximum attemptsThree
After a third failureOne-year wait

Your approval lasts one year, and you may make at most three attempts. A third failed attempt triggers a one-year wait. Put plainly, the policy rewards getting ready before you schedule rather than treating the first sitting as a diagnostic. The fee structure alone is a strong argument for taking timed practice exams first and sitting only when you are consistently clearing your target. For the full financial picture, see the CEM certification cost breakdown.

Who Sits This Exam and Why the Bar Matters

The CEM is aimed at people who manage heavy off-road equipment and municipal or government fleets: fleet and equipment managers, shop and maintenance supervisors moving into management, and public-sector fleet leaders. Eligibility is demanding. AEMP requires at least five years of equipment management experience, five years of staff supervision, 25 qualifying points and one eligible recommendation. No preparation course is mandatory.

That profile explains the 74% threshold. The exam is designed for people who already run operations, so it expects fluency across finance, service, data, policy and control systems rather than strength in only the area you personally work in. A shop manager comfortable with preventive maintenance and parts may find Controls familiar but Finance or Information less so. A public-sector fleet director might be the reverse. Hiring managers who value the credential, a topic we cover in the CEM jobs overview, generally treat it as evidence of well-rounded management competence, which is exactly what a balanced 74% across five standards implies.

Whether the investment pays off for your situation is a separate question, addressed in our ROI analysis and the salary guide.

A Domain-Based Plan for Clearing the Bar

Since weights are unpublished, the most defensible plan is to identify your weakest standard, shore it up first, and then run mixed practice that forces you to switch between areas the way the real exam does. Most candidates are lopsided: strong in the area their daily job touches and thin elsewhere. Current AEMP preparation resources include the CEFM manual, the IGNITE Learning Lab and AEMP education offerings. Our CEM study guide goes deeper on resources and sequencing.

Weeks 1-2

Finance and Information

  • Work through acquisition, replacement and warranty reasoning
  • Practice life-cycle costing and benchmarking logic, since these areas reward comfort with numbers
  • Start here because most field managers are least practiced with the quantitative material
Week 3

Policies and Controls

  • Review training, environmental, safety and human resources practices
  • Study preventive maintenance, parts management, outsourcing and shop facilities
  • Experienced supervisors can move faster here, so shorten this block if it is familiar
Week 4

Customer Service, then mixed timed practice

  • Cover service delivery, communications and service improvement
  • Take full-length timed sets across all five standards and log misses by area
  • Sit the exam only after you are scoring comfortably above 74% on unfamiliar questions

Aim for a cushion rather than a bare pass on practice runs. Practice questions are an editorial approximation of the real exam, and the real item mix is unknown, so a buffer above 74% protects you against variance in which topics you draw. You can pressure-test your readiness with timed sets on the CEM practice test site, and a compact fact review is available in the CEM cheat sheet.

Review misses by standard, not by question: When you miss a practice item, record which of the five standards it belongs to. After two or three full sets, patterns appear, and they tell you where to spend remaining study hours far better than a raw score does. Start your tracking with a free set on the main practice test page.

After You Pass: Renewal and Maintenance

The credential is valid for five years, and renewal requires 40 continuing-education hours. The renewal fee is not verified in the sources reviewed, so confirm it with AEMP when your cycle approaches. Keep records of qualifying education as you go rather than reconstructing them at the deadline.

If you are newer to the terminology, our explainers on what CEM stands for and CEM training options fill in the background, and you can compare the dedicated passing score reference any time you need a quick check of the core numbers.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the Certified Equipment Manager exam?

The passing threshold is 74%, according to the current AEMP Certification FAQ. The exam is 150 multiple-choice items over four hours, with some unscored pilot items mixed in.

How many questions do I need to answer correctly?

It cannot be stated precisely. The 150 items include unscored pilot questions, and AEMP does not publish the scored-versus-pilot split. Think of the target as roughly three correct answers out of every four on the scored items.

Are the five exam standards weighted equally?

Weights are not published. The February 2025 application names Finance, Customer Service, Information, Policies and Controls but gives no percentages, so you should prepare across all five rather than guessing which carries more weight.

How many times can I attempt the exam?

Your approval lasts one year and you may make at most three attempts. After a third failed attempt, you must wait one year. Fees are $550 for members and $650 for nonmembers, with a listed retake fee of $450 that conflicts with an older $250 store listing.

Is the CEM pass rate published?

No. The current cohort pass rate is not publicly disclosed, so any specific percentage you see quoted should be treated with caution. The only verified outcome threshold is the 74% passing score.

Ready to pass your CEM exam?

Put this into practice with free CEM questions across every exam domain.